Follow the Light

I think it is important to set out with an idea of what I intend to achieve while out on the street with a camera. Most of the time, my intention is to follow the light – that is to put the quality of light first and let the subject come second.

This allows me to be more ‘in the zone’ as I have effectively set out my stall for the day and I’m less likely to be distracted by photos I hadn’t envisioned. I find sticking with a prime lens or two also helps with this process as then I am used to the focal lengths and can focus (literally!) on the light, compositions and subjects I come across.

Another aspect that contributes to following the light is choosing a time of day to photograph. I like early morning or evening as prime time for my type of shooting (and pretty much all winter daylight hours) as the Sun is lower in the sky, which produces longer shadows. However, this does also mean I am somewhat racing against time as the light changes more quickly at these times.

The final part of the puzzle is processing photos in line with these intentions. I usually process my photos so they are in black and white (I also photograph in black and white). I do this for consistency in my larger body of work, but as well because I feel black and white accentuates patterns in light and shadow. I edit the photos in post so that the shadows are deeper and the highlights are brighter, dependent on each photo’s requirements. I do this so the photos meet my intentions and embellish the light in the scene. It also allows me to achieve a consistent aesthetic throughout this body of work.

Of course, there are other approaches to street photography and photography in general. One that springs to mind is putting the subject first (looking for compelling subjects) and the light second. Both approaches are equally viable but I just prefer this idea of following the light for the moment.

Below are some examples of where following the light has been productive for me:

4 responses to “Follow the Light”

  1. An interesting read and striking photos. I think I tend to look for my subject first and the light second about 80% of the time, but the other 20% there will be something about the light that appeals to me and I’ll seek out a subject that will enhance it and/or look better for it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your perspective! I know a lot of photographers whose approach is similar to yours but I am attracted like a moth to the light 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started